Eight new Medical Delta Professors

Eight new Medical Delta Professors


The eight new Medical Delta Professors. From left to right: Ariane Briegel, Eline Slagboom, Gijsje Koenderink, Lioe-Fee de Geus-Oei, Maaike Kleinsmann, Marion Smits, Maureen Rutten-van Mölken and Sieta Bierma-Zeinstra. (Photos:



Eight researchers, all women, were appointed Medical Delta professors on 15 November. They will conduct research in the border area between healthcare and technology. For this, they will receive a double or even triple appointment: besides TU Delft, Erasmus MC, LUMC, Leiden University or Erasmus University are also their employers.


Six of the new Medical Delta professors did not work at TU Delft before, only two of them (Maaike Kleinsmann and Gijsje Koenderink) did. In total, there are 32 Medical Delta professors now.


One of the new Medical Delta professors is Lioe-Fee de Geus-Oei. She is doing research on customised cancer therapy. Through wider use of techniques that show the location of molecules in the body, tumours are mapped even better. This allows doctors to choose the most effective treatment for each patient.


  • Why is collaboration between universities and medical centres so important?

Earlier this year, Delta interviewed the previous group of new-appointed Medical Delta professors


Science editor Rob van der Wal

Do you have a question or comment about this article?

Comments are closed.